A home grown exhibit of the National Archives of the Philippines that documents and records the Spanish occupation and birth of the sugar industry on the island.
The Negros Museum was was built in 1925 by Juan Arellano. Originally part of the Provincial Capitol, it was known as the Provincial Agriculture Building.
This latest museum renovation accommodates what National Archives Director, Inno Manolo, describes as a new museology.
Unlike most traditional museums, the Negros Museum has no archaeological artifacts. It was designed to display Negrense lifestyle and society, old furnishings, and loaned items from ancestral homes.
Its focuses on art exhibits and expositions by different local and visiting artists residing the in Negros Island Region. Art training and seminars are also conducted by the museum.
The museum is committed to promote and expose local talent, pushing for deeper understanding of local culture, history, artistic practice, and ecology. It supports the creative endeavors of children and youth of Negros Island and local residents of the province.
After Talamdan, the National Archives of the Philippines will continue to help the Negros Museum on other historical exhibits. Exploring other dimension of curating while endorsing the talents of Negros artists. It hopes to revive a permanent collection of masterpieces to showcase the rich history of the island.
Manolo is also keen to expand beyond the sugar industry theme, for the museum to advocate the province as a multi-faceted community of diversity beyond Negros Province, embracing the effects and aspects of change.